Skip navigation

Last night I dreamt of dying.

I lay down beneath a redwood tree

And let my life slip away

Without regret, without remorse;

As gently as a sigh.

All that I was is passing away

It slides from my open hands

Onto the earth below

Let it crumble into dust

Let it dissolve and be no more.

I will light a pyre for all that I was

And throw on my yesterdays

When the ashes have cooled

They will nourish the soil

In which I raise my tomorrows.

Last night I dreamt of dying.

— Brigit, 2007

One Comment

  1. This was written after ending my marriage of 24 years. I actually did dream that I had died.


Leave a Reply

